Classifieds in Heritage Sites
Inishowen Maritime Museum & Planatarium
Inishowen Maritime Museum & Planetarium is located at the Old Coast Guard station over looking Greencastle Harbour on the banks of the beautiful Lough Foyle. It is situated beside the Lough Foyle ferry entrance; this passenger/car ferry service runs between Greencastle and Magilligan, Co. Derry If you wish to contact us or have any queries on our new full-dome digital theater please do not hesitate to call the museum on (00353) 074 9381363. Note: During winter hours, planetarium shows...
|Inishowen Maritime M||-||-|
Down County Museum
Down County Museum is where the rich heritage of County Down is brought to life in fascinating exhibitions, lively events, hands-on activities and award winning education programmes. Visitors can explore the history of the old Gaol, enjoy our permanent exhibitions and see one of our special, temporary exhibitions displaying objects from our varied collections. The Museum's extension, containing three new permanent galleries and a brand new tearoom is now open. Make sure to pay us a...
|Down County Museum, Downpatrick||-||-|
Crumlin Road Gaol.
Crimlin Road gaol was built between 1843 and 1845 on a ten acre site at the bottom of the Crumlin Road, Belfast. Originally the gaol was intended to have one inmate per cell, however when it was closed in the late 1990’s there were three to a cell.
|Crumlin Road Goal Be||-||-|
Newgrange County Meath
Newgrange is a 5,200 year old passage tomb located in the Boyne Valley in Ireland's Ancient Newgrange was built by Stone Age farmers, the mound is 85 meters (93 yards) in diameter and 13.5 meters (15 yards) high, an area of about 1 acre. A passage measuring 19 meters (21 yards) leads into a chamber with 3 alcoves. The passage and chamber are aligned with the rising sun at the Winter Solstice . Newgrange is surrounded by 97 large stones called kerbstones some of which are engraved with...
In the 1570's Bernard Ward from Cheshire in England was appointed surveyor general of Ireland by Elizabeth I, according to family tradition he bought five town lands in east county Down from the Earl of Kildare, the property is said to have been called 'Carrick-na-Shannafh' ( Foxes Rock). A tower house was built about 1610, at some stage an extension is thought to have been added to the south of the tower, little evidence is visible of this today. Early in the 18th century times were...
|Castle Ward, Castleward||-||-|